Catch the ARSL TRAIN!

Introducing ARSL’s TRAIN (Training, Roundtables, and Informational Networking) Series! Once a month, tune in for an online workshop, roundtable, or networking event.

TRAIN webinars and workshops are priced accessibly and available to both ARSL members and non-members. Roundtables and networking events are free and limited to members of ARSL. If you're interested in attending a roundtable or getting member pricing for a training, consider joining ARSL!

Upcoming TRAIN

Everyday Leadership: Tools & Techniques for Strategic Thinking

Join us for a TRAIN webinar on Thursday, December 10, 11:00 am-12:30 pm PT/1:00-2:30 pm CT.

Make decisions quickly and effectively using simple techniques that work in one-on-one conversations, small group discussions, or large team meetings. In this webinar, learn four innovative methods for everyday problem-solving: 1) An easy way to gather input, feedback, and observations; 2) A visual technique for organizing information to identify key issues; 3) An exercise to set priorities and focus on essentials; and 4) A method to differentiate priorities by separating quick wins from long-term goals. You’ll strengthen your ability to facilitate discussions, build consensus, weigh trade-offs, and focus on what matters most. These exercises are simple enough to use in a few minutes and will help you identify opportunities to take action. Presented by Heidi Dolamore, Consultant at Califa.

The webinar will be $15 for members/$25 for non-members.

Register here!

Do you know someone who would enjoy this training? You can now gift them an ARSL membership for the holidays!


Previous ARSL TRAINs

Self-Care Roundtable
Thursday, November 19, 11 am-12 pm PT/1-2 pm CT
Facilitators: Jennie Garner, Library Director, North Liberty Library and ARSL 2020 Board Secretary; Bailee Hutchinson, Branch Manager, Altus Public Library and ARSL 2020 Board Director


Previous COVID-19 Roundtables

Earlier this year, ARSL held a series of COVID-19 Roundtables. You can find recordings and chat logs of those roundtables below.

Recordings of Previous Round Tables

Equity in the Stacks: Libraries as Beacons of Anti-Racism | chat log
Facilitator: Kellee Forkenbrock, North Liberty Library, Public Services Librarian

ARSL COVID-19 Round Table: Self Care and Staff Health, June 11 | chat log
Thursday, June 11, 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern
Facilitators: Jennie Garner, Library Director, North Liberty Library and ARSL 2020 Board Secretary; Bailee Hutchinson, Branch Manager, Altus Public Library and ARSL 2020 Board Director

ARSL COVID-19 Round Table: Serving Patrons Without Access to Internet, May 28 | chat log
Facilitators: Clancy Pool, Branch Manager, St. John Branch, Whitman County Rural Library, Washington; C. L. Quillen, Spotswood Public Library, Library Director

ARSL COVID-19 Round Table: Reaching Young Patrons Through Virtual Storytime, May 21 | chat log
Facilitators: Sherry Scheline, Library Director, Donnelly Public Library District; Bailee Hutchinson, Branch Manager Altus Public Library, ARSL Board Director; Patrick Bodily, Public Library Consultant, Idaho Commission for Libraries

ARSL COVID-19 Round Table: Summer Reading Reboot, May 14 | chat log
Facilitator: Judy Calhoun, Southeast Arkansas Regional Library, Regional Director

Thursday, May 7 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern | chat log
Facilitators: Becky Heil, Southeast District Consultant, State Library of Iowa; and Debbie Drachman, Library Director, Crosswicks Library in New Jersey.

Thursday, April 30 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern | chat log
Facilitators: Mary Soucie, State Librarian, North Dakota State Library; Meredith E. Wickham, Director, First Regional Library System

Thursday, April 23 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern  | chat log
Facilitators: Patrick Bodily, Public Library Consultant, Idaho Commission for Libraries; Erin Busbea, Director, Columbus-Lowndes Public Library System

Thursday, April 16 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern | chat log
Facilitators: Jennifer Pearson, Library Director, Marshall County Memorial Library and ARSL 2020 Board President; Lisa Shaw, Rural & Small Library/Workforce Development Specialist, Maine State Library and ARSL Advocacy Committee Chair

Thursday, April 9 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern | chat log
Facilitators: Jane Somerville, Library Director, Stanley Community Library and ARSL 2020 Board Director; Bailee Hutchinson, Branch Manager, Altus Public Library and ARSL 2020 Board Director

Thursday, April 2 at 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern | chat log
Facilitators: Jennie Garner, Library Director, North Liberty Library and ARSL 2020 Board Secretary; Kathy Zappitello, Executive Director, Conneaut Public Library and ARSL 2020 Board Vice President/President Elect