ARSL Outstanding in Their Field Leadership Institute

Visit the ARSL Outstanding site to learn more!

PRESS RELEASE
The Association for Rural & Small Libraries
Questions to [email protected]
January 11, 2021 

The Association for Rural & Small Libraries is excited to announce that applications for ARSL’s pilot leadership institute, Outstanding In Their Field, are officially open! We are looking for 30 outstanding people who are currently working in rural and small libraries to join us for this professional development opportunity.

Applications will be accepted through February 24th, 2021. 

Participants, or “Outfielders,” will undertake 18 months of online and in-person interactive sessions. Participants will gain:

  • skills and confidence as leaders

  • a network of colleagues throughout the country

  • experiences at two ARSL conferences

Who should apply? The ARSL Leadership Institute is for accidental library leaders who may not have a Masters Degree in Library and Information Science, and potentially no college degree at all. These folks came into their leadership positions from a wide variety of backgrounds: the cashier from the local Mini-Mart with good customer service skills, the cataloger who worked at the library for 12 years and just became the new library director, or the school teacher who ended up running the public library. They may have an official title and position of authority, or they may be looking ahead to a transition of power within their organization. However they got to where they are today, they’re ready to expand their professional capabilities and grow as institutional and community leaders.

ARSL seeks applicants representing a wide variety of communities, and has a commitment to the representation of groups that have been historically marginalized or excluded due to ethnicity, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, ability, economic background, educational attainment, or age.

If you still have questions about applying for the grant, plan to attend our Q&A webinar on Friday, January 29 at 11am-12pm Pacific Time, 12-1pm Mountain, 1-2pm Central, 2-3pm Eastern. Registration is required.

All participant travel, materials, and instructional expenses (worth approximately $8000 each) are covered by an IMLS grant*. So while there are no monetary costs for participants, they will outlay significant time, consistent engagement, and dedication to growing themselves and others as leaders.

*This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Thank you, IMLS!