PD Book Club

Join us for ARSL’s PD (Professional Development) Book Club! Once a quarter we invite both members and nonmembers to come together to discuss a PD book of particular interest to the needs of library professionals working in small, rural libraries.

Book club discussion groups are hosted free of charge for all attendees. In order to accommodate those of us in different time zones two different discussion groups will be held for each quarterly reading selection; times for the two discussion sections are listed below. Discussion groups will not be recorded to encourage open and honest discussion among attendees.

If you're interested in attending additional roundtables or trainings through ARSL at discounted member rates, consider joining ARSL!


Winter Quarter (January-March) Book Club

Discussion Selection: Sustainable Thinking: Ensuring Your Library's Future in an Uncertain World by Rebekkah Smith Aldrich

March 29, 2022 | Two discussion groups will be held:
Discussion 1: 3:30 pm PT / 4:30 pm MT / 5:30 pm CT / 6:30 pm ET
Discussion 2: 6:30 pm PT / 7:30 pm MT / 8:30 pm CT / 9:30 pm ET

Everyone, regardless of ARSL membership status, is invited to join us on March 29th, 2022 for our inaugural professional development book club: an interactive discussion of Rebekkah Smith Aldrich’s landmark book Sustainable Thinking: Ensuring Your Library’s Future in an Uncertain World.

Sustainability may seem like a “pie-in-the-sky” idea, suitable only for larger libraries with bigger budgets to contemplate. However, much of sustainable thinking and action already takes place within the walls and communities of small libraries. As Smith Aldrich states, “How fortuitous for us all that what the world needs most right now is what libraries are already very good at.” How can we leverage our skills and our knowledge to create and support thriving and resilient communities? 

Smith Aldrich’s book is available for purchase in the ALA Store. The book is also available on Overdrive.

Register for a Discussion Session
Buy the Book